This website was made with the permission, and in the loving memory of Sachkhand Nivasi Jathedar Akali Baba Surjeet Singh Ji 96Krori, the 14th Jathedar of the Budha Dal.

The Budha Dal carries a rich history to it. The Budha Dal is an institute that traces its roots to the Akaal Sena, the army established by the 5th Guru, Akali Guru Arjan Dev Ji and was strengthened by the 6th Guru, Akali Guru Hargobind Sahib Ji. The Akaal Sena’s headquarters was the Akaal Takhat Sahib. The Akaal Sena strengthened to such a point that it contained soldiers from all faiths. Their fight was not against any particular body, but against unrighteousness and to uphold peace and equality over the lands they watched over. The Akaal Sena evolved into the Khalsa Fauj. This Khalsa Fauj was the official army of Sahib Sri Guru Gobind Singh Ji. The Budha Dal and Tarna Dal were 2 battalions within the Khalsa Fauj. The Budha Dal were blessed with the duties of maintaining rule within the Khalsa Panth and preserve and protect the Gurdwaras and Ithihasik Asthaans throughout Punjab. The Budha Dal used to be the institute where the Vidhvaans who held a lineage which dated back to the Gurus rested.  Also, war veterans and promising soldiers resided at the Budha Dal. The Budha Dal was traditionally respected and recognised as the Panjva Takhat, or 5th Takhat. This was due to the immense power the Budha Dal held. It was recognised to such an extent that the renowned and legendary Jathedar Akali Baba Phoola Singh Ji, the 6th Jathedar of the Budha Dal and the General of Maharaja Ranjit Singh’s Army, ordered punishment for Maharaja Ranjit Singh for breaking a conduct of the Sikh Dharam. The Khalsa Fauj was reorganised in 1734 by the venerated Jathedar, Akali Baba Nawab Kapoor Singh Ji, the third Jathedar of the Budha Dal. The Khalsa Fauj was split into 2 Dals. The Budha Dal and the Tarna Dal. The Budha Dal still survives to this day and has undergone much tragedy, however this blessed Panth will continue to survive under the blessing of the Tenth Master. The Budha Dal was named after Baba Buddha Ji, who accompanied the first 6 gurus and applied Tikka to 5 of the six. After performing such service to the Gurus, Sri Guru Hargobind Sahib Ji proclaimed that Baba Buddha Ji would have a great place in the House of the Guru. This Gursikh Pyaara would be known to all, not only for the beautiful qualities he possessed and the Seva he did, but also for the recognition he was blessed with, to have the Guru Khalsa Fauj named after him.